John M. Carpenter writes about Arthur Leslie Green, who, from about the turn of the century until his death in 1945, purchased, traded, and scrounged for historic relics and architectural artifacts, many from Newport buildings that were in imminent danger of destruction. This was the age of the artifact and the curio, when parts were often considered more important than the whole. Green assembled his collection of relics and architectural fragments on and into the Weaver-Franklin House, which he moved from the Point to Training Station Road in Newport. Also in this issue are the annual reports of the President, Executive Director, and staff of the Newport Historical Society. These seem to grow in length each year, a testament to the ever-expanding role the Newport Historical Society takes in the preservation of the history of Newport County.
Potvin, Ron M.
Newport History: Vol. 69
, Article 1.
Available at: http://digitalcommons.salve.edu/newporthistory/vol69/iss241/1