Salve Regina University

Digital Commons @ Salve Regina

Faculty Assembly Documents

Faculty and Staff

3-5-2008

AS Minutes 2008 03 05 Motion Re elections

Follow this and additional works at: https://digitalcommons.salve.edu/fac_assembly

Recommended Citation

"AS Minutes 2008 03 05 Motion Re elections" (2008). *Faculty Assembly Documents*. 92. https://digitalcommons.salve.edu/fac_assembly/92

Rights Statement

EDUCATIONAL USE PERMITTED

In Copyright - Educational Use Permitted. URI: http://rightsstatements.org/vocab/InC-EDU/1.0/

This Item is protected by copyright and/or related rights. You are free to use this Item in any way that is permitted by the copyright and related rights legislation that applies to your use. In addition, no permission is required from the rights-holder(s) for educational uses. For other uses, you need to obtain permission from the rights-holder(s).

FACULTY ASSEMBLY MEETING, March 5, 2008. MOTION FROM THE EVALUATION PROCESS COMMITTEE

Background: In spring 2007, the Evaluation Process Committee, consisting of nine elected members of the Faculty Assembly, was charged with implementing the pilot process for Faculty Input to Evaluation of Academic Administrators in the 2007-2008 academic year. As approved by the Faculty Assembly, the pilot process specified that "after the initial period of implementation, the EPC will consist of six elected members serving staggered two-year terms. (Initially, some members may need to be elected to shorter or longer terms in order to achieve the goal of a six-person committee with two new members elected each year.)" The EPC proposes the following motion to specify the details of this transition from the current adhoc committee to a standing committee of six elected members who can facilitate the Evaluation Process in 2008-2009 and subsequent years.

Motion: That the Evaluation Process Committee be made up of six members serving staggered two-year terms, according to the following guidelines:

- one member is elected by the Undergraduate Council,
- one member is elected by the Graduate Council,
- four members are elected by the Faculty Assembly.
- The Undergraduate and Graduate Council representatives are elected in alternate years.
- Three members of the current committee will continue to serve for one additional year, to provide continuity in the transition to a standing committee. (The members who have agreed to serve an additional year are Symeon Giannakos (Graduate Council member), Martha Rose and Diane Tomkinson.)
- Three new members will be elected to a two-year term this spring, one by the Undergraduate Council and two by the Faculty Assembly. In spring 2009, one member will be elected by the Graduate Council and two by the Faculty Assembly.
- Beginning with next year's election, members who have completed a two-year term will not be eligible for immediate re-election.

Rationale: The current nine-member committee has included two departmental chairs serving on the Undergraduate Council and two graduate program directors serving on the Graduate Council. Given the greater direct interaction between academic administrators and departmental chairs/program directors, the consensus of the current committee was that it was important to have representation on the EPC committee from both groups. Election of one member each by the Undergraduate and Graduate Councils provides such representation. The staggered two-year terms offer continuity, ensuring that three members have been through the process once before in each cycle, while no immediate reelection provides opportunity for diverse faculty members to help facilitate the process.