Salve Regina University

Digital Commons @ Salve Regina

Press Release Archive

Archives and Special Collections

5-21-1969

Establishment of Faculty Senate, May 21, 1969

Salve Regina College

Follow this and additional works at: https://digitalcommons.salve.edu/releases



Part of the Education Commons

Recommended Citation

Salve Regina College, "Establishment of Faculty Senate, May 21, 1969" (1969). Press Release Archive.

https://digitalcommons.salve.edu/releases/759

Rights Statement

EDUCATIONAL USE PERMITTED

In Copyright - Educational Use Permitted. URI: http://rightsstatements.org/vocab/InC-EDU/1.0/

This Item is protected by copyright and/or related rights. You are free to use this Item in any way that is permitted by the copyright and related rights legislation that applies to your use. In addition, no permission is required from the rightsholder(s) for educational uses. For other uses, you need to obtain permission from the rights-holder(s).



To: Public Relations Office
From: Faculty Senate
For immediate release

The Faculty of Salve Regina College today announced the establishment of a Faculty Senate. Its purpose is to serve as a forum for faculty opinion on all matters of academic and professional interest and on all matters of concern to the Salve Regina College community. The Senate consists of fifteen members elected by the faculty as a whole and is a deliberative, advisory, consultative, and legislative body providing formal channels of communication from the Faculty to the Board of Trustees, Administration, and the Student Body; and from the Board of Trustees, Administration, and Student Body to the Faculty.

Officers elected at an organizational meeting held Tuesday, May 20 include the following:

President: Prof. Robert McKenna

Vice-President: Sr. Maureen Dietz, R.S.M.

Recording Sec*y: Dr. Dorothy Troendle

Corresponding Sec'y: Miss Rae K. O'Neill

Treasurer: Dr. Ascanio DiPippo